

JOINT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2018-2019

COUNCILS

COUNCILS		
Joint Strategic Committee Membership is the Leader and their Executive (no requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough Co	ouncil
1	Chair: Dan Humphreys	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative
3	Elizabeth Sparkes	Conservative
4	Val Turner	Conservative
5	Ed Crouch	Conservative
6	Heather Mercer	Conservative
Adur District Council		
1	Chair:	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair:	Conservative
3		Conservative
4		Conservative
5		Conservative
6		Conservative

Joint Governance Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
Worthing Borough Council		
1	Chair: Lionel Harman	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Nigel Morgan	Conservative
3	Steve Wills	Conservative
4	Jane Sim	Conservative
5	Bryan Turner	Conservative
6	Louise Murphy	Conservative
7	Jim Deen	Labour
8		(to be advised)
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: George Barton	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Boram	Conservative
3	Peter Metcalfe	Conservative
4	Andrew McGregor	Conservative
5	Paul Mansfield	Conservative
6	Barry Mear	Labour
7	Dave Balfe	Labour
8	Paul Graysmark	UKIP

Note: Not more than one member to be an Executive Member

For Standards matters:

Independent Members: John Todd, Simon Norris-Jones and Susan Clark

Parish representatives: Lancing Parish Council (1) – Sompting Parish Council (1)

Joint Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
Worthing Borough Council		
1	Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Noel Atkins	Conservative
3		Lib Dem
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: Brian Boggis	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Brian Coomber	Conservative
3	Lavinia O'Connor	Labour

Joint Senior Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
Worthing Borough Council		
1	Chair: Daniel Humphreys Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative
3	Rebecca Cooper	Labour
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: usually the Leader	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: usually the Deputy Leader	Conservative
3	Les Alden	Labour

Note: Each Council must have one Executive member

Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough C	ouncil
1	Chair: Roy Barraclough	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative
3	Karen Harman	Conservative
4	Charles James	Conservative
5	Steve Waight	Conservative
6	Sean McDonald	Conservative
7	Rebecca Cooper	Labour
8		(to be advised)
	Adur District Cour	ncil
1	Chair: Stephen Chipp	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Andrew McGregor	Conservative
3	Carol Albury	Conservative
4	Kevin Boram	Conservative
5	Paul Mansfield	Conservative
6	Lavinia O'Connor	Labour
7	Catherine Arnold	Labour
8	Joss Loader	SBRA



EXECUTIVE / NON-EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS 2018-2019

Executive, appointed by the Leader		
No	Councillor	Title
1		
2		
3		
4		
5		
6		
Policy Advisors to Executive Members These are not Council appointments; these are made by the individual Executive Member, advised to the Director of Communities.		
1		To Leader
2		To Executive Member for Resources
3		To Executive Member for Regeneration
4		To Executive Member for Customer Services
5		Executive Member for Health & Wellbeing
6		Executive Member for Environment

Adur Planning Committee

(requirement for political balance)

No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Carol Albury	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Pat Beresford	Conservative
3	Brian Coomber	Conservative
4	George Barton	Conservative
5	Stephen Chipp	Conservative
6	Les Alden	Labour
7	Lee Cowen	Labour
8	Robin Monk	UKIP
	Substitute Members List	
	All Members who have had the necessary training by the end of June 2018	Conservative
	Paul Graysmark	UKIP
	David Balfe	Labour
	Catherine Arnold	Labour

It is a requirement that Members and Substitute members of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Licensing Committee

(requirement for political balance)

No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Kevin Boram	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: David Simmons	Conservative
3	Ann Bridges	Conservative
4	Brian Coomber	Conservative
5	Pat Beresford	Conservative
6	Peter Metcalfe	Conservative
7	David Balfe	Labour
8	Lavinia O'Connor	Labour
9	Clive Burghard	UKIP
10	Dave Collins	SBRA

It is a requirement that Members of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee

(requirement for political balance)

No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Stephen Chipp	Conservative
2	Vice-Chairman: Andrew McGregor	Conservative
3	Carol Albury	Conservative
4	Kevin Boram	Conservative
5	Paul Mansfield	Conservative
6	Lavinia O'Connor	Labour
7	Catherine Arnold	Labour
8	Joss Loader	SBRA

This membership becomes the Adur membership on the Joint Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Adur representative on the West Sussex Adult and Social Care Select Committee (membership is from the Scrutiny Committee)		
Kevin Boram	Conservative	

Notified Group Leaders (Regulation 8(3))

Conservative Group - Cllr Neil Parkin (Leader) Cllr Angus Dunn (Deputy)

UKIP - Clir Paul Graysmark (Leader) Clir Robin Monk (Deputy)

Labour - Clir Les Alden (Leader) Clir Lee Cowen (Deputy)
SBRA - Clir Joss Loader (Leader) Clir Dave Collins (Deputy)